Run. Eat. Sleep.

A city girl's journey towards healthy living!

AC on, AC off

Leave a comment

Today instead of starting off with a run, I opted to catch up on some sleep.  What a glorious 9 hour sleep it was…

Naner oats to get things going.

Then I watched the rest of the Mahut/Isner match while enjoying a cup of coffee.

Can you believe they had to postpone the game until today because they had been playing for over 7 hours??  Before they started today, set 5 was at 59-59 games.  P.S.  Normally a set is over when someone wins 6 games, but in the 5th set, there’s no tiebreaker so they have to keep playing until someone wins by 2 games.  It. Was. Insane.

Mid-match I snacked on half a cookie…

For lunch, I was craving a bean burger, so I searched around for a recipe using garbanzo beans.  Nothing really popped out, so I just made my own recipe.  I call it:

Mixed bean burger

1 can (15 oz.) Garbanzo  beans

1 can (15 oz.) Black beans

2 TBS fresh cilantro (I used culantro, which is in the cilatro family)

1 TBS fresh garlic

1 very small onion

1/2 TSP sprinkle of paprika

1/2 TSP salt and pepper to taste

2 egg whites

5 crushed whole wheat crackers

2 packets of plain instant oatmeal.


1. Heat a frying pan to medium-high.  Mix all the ingredients in red together in a Cuisinart or something that will combine everything together.

2. When combined, add in the 2 egg whites and continue pulsing.

3. Dump mixture into a mixing bowl and stir oatmeal and crushed crackers together.

4. Place about 2 burger at a time in the pan, making sure you put a little Pam before setting the burgers on.  Makes between 8-10 patties.

This recipe was perfect.  The burgers came out tasting fresh and were light in texture.  Talk about a protein punch!  I topped mine with some salsa and had half an apple along with some crackers for crunch.

As soon as I finished making 4 burgers for us (2 each), the AC went off!  At first, Doris and I thought we did it with an overload of electronics that were on, but then we went outside the house and didn’t hear anyone else’s AC on.  That’s when we realized the whole neighborhood was powerless!

Now…

Imagine 95 degree weather, with a “real feel” of 105 degrees.  Now imagine that it’s the same temperature inside the house.  DYING.  I should have set the frying pan outside on the cement and continued frying my burgers 🙂

After the the power turned on and off about 6 times, it has finally stayed on for the past hour (knock on wood!)

Dinner tonight will be inspired by an Oh She Glows recipe…stay tuned!

Leave a comment